24 thick or 36 thin asparagus spears (about 2 pounds)
2 3- to 4-ounce packages smoked wild salmon
12 8-inch rice-paper wrappers (see Notes)
1 ripe avocado, cut into 24 slices
1 cup shredded carrot
½ cup chopped fresh basil
½ cup chopped fresh mint
⅓ cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons orange juice
2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons mirin
¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper, or more to taste
To prepare spring rolls: Bring 1 inch of water to a boil in a large skillet. Trim asparagus spears to no longer than 6 inches; add to the boiling water. Partially cover and cook the asparagus until tender-crisp, about 3 minutes. Drain; refresh under cold water. Cut each spear in half lengthwise. Cut salmon slices into 12 strips no longer than 6 inches each.
Soak one wrapper at a time in a shallow dish of very hot water until softened, about 30 seconds. Lift out, let excess water drip off and lay on a clean, dry cutting board.
Center a strip of smoked salmon in the bottom third of the wrapper, leaving a 1-inch border on either side. Arrange 4 thick (or 6 thin) asparagus spear halves (overlapping as necessary) over the salmon. Top the asparagus with 2 avocado slices, 1 tablespoon shredded carrot and about 2 teaspoons each basil and mint. Fold the wrapper over the filling and roll into a tight cylinder, folding in the sides as you go. Repeat with the remaining wrappers and filling. Cut each finished roll in half.
To prepare dipping sauce: Whisk soy sauce, orange juice, lemon juice, mirin and crushed red pepper in a small serving bowl. Serve the rolls with the sauce.
Make Ahead Tip: Individually wrap in parchment or wax paper and refrigerate for up to 4 hours.
Rice-paper wrappers are translucent, round sheets made from rice flour. They need to briefly soak in warm water to make them soft and pliable before using. Find them in the Asian section of large supermarkets or at Asian food stores.
Mirin is a low-alcohol rice wine essential to Japanese cooking. Look for it in the supermarket with other Asian ingredients. An equal portion of dry sherry or white wine with a pinch of sugar may be substituted.
People with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity should use soy sauces that are labeled "gluten-free," as soy sauce may contain wheat or other gluten-containing sweeteners and flavors.